Park Scenes that Inspired Finnegan’s Quest

Finnegan's_Quest_Cover_for_Kindle

Now available in paperback.

When I hike in the park, I think of  Finnegan’s Quest.

Fall swept grass

 The story takes place in the fall.   The grass is dry, windswept.

fall color 084

The wild grape leaves are bright.

Sycamore  2007_1220december0037

The sycamore ‘s leaves are like fingers pointing in the same direction.

sycamore 348

eroded sycamore 176

The Western sycamore, featured in Finnegan’s Quest, is wild, and tall.  It’s not at all disciplined like the European sycamore trees (plane trees) that line avenues and stand like soldiers at alert.   Finnegan’s sycamore perches on its own roots as if they are legs.

western sycamore 018 It has two great trunks, one that angles along the ground like a bench before turning skyward.

western sycamore base 004

It invites many creatures to live in it.

Finnegan’s Quest, available at Amazon.com in paperback.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brian P
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 20:51:51

    Hello,

    This is impressive.

    I clicked on comments and was taken to your blog plus I see there are archives. From a lack of material from you I am now loaded with lots. My notebook computer with its internet is now a “horn of plenty”. Not very familiar with the term, but I seem to be drowning in an abundance of information now. I can see I have some catch up work to do. I feel a bit like good old uncle scrooge diving into a swimming pool filled with money. Looks like some fun to be had.

    love

    Brian

    On Wed, Feb 13, 2013 at 4:44 PM, Along the Path wrote:

    > ** > gloria piper posted: ” Now available in paperback. When I > hike in the park, I think of the scenes in Finnegan’s Quest. The story > takes place in the fall. The grass is dry, looking windswept. The wild > grape leaves “

    Reply

Leave a Reply

